ESPN Madision

2013 WBCA District 5 All-District Team

Jun 14, 2013 -- 12:45pm


2013 WBCA District 5 All-District Team

By: Tyler Zavadsky     Twitter: @TylerZonESPN

     The Wisconsin Baseball Coaches Association announced the All-District Team’s this week and numerous local athletes fill the District 5 All-District Team. 

     Standout senior and four-year letter winner for the Sun Prairie Cardinals, Zach Fairchild, earned All-District Player of the Year honors while earning his second All-District honor after being named to the Honorable Mention Team after his junior campaign. 

     Fairchild was accompanied by three other teammates who also earned All-District honors as defending state champions. Those that joined Fairchild on the list of All-District teams are senior pitcher Sam Lund, senior infielder Carter Brekke and senior pitcher Brett Yoder. 

     Two other Big Eight studs that earned all District Honors were Alex Brown, a senior from Madison West, and junior Armann Cabrera out of Beloit Memorial. Both players were named to the First Team Big Eight All-Conference Team as well as the First Team District Five All-District Team. 

     Heath Renz, a senior for Jefferson, and junior teammate Andy Brahier were joined by Evan Deegan from Edgerton as First Team All-District players out of the Rock Valley North. 

     In all, eight of 11 First Team All-District spots and 16 of the 32 total possible All-District Honors went to players that represent either the Rock Valley North or the Big Eight Conference, the two conferences predominately covered by The Prep Corner. 

FIRST TEAM District 5 All-District Team

     Pitchers: Sam Lund, Sun Prairie, jr.; Heath Renz, Jefferson, jr.

     Catcher: Zach Fairchild, Sun Prairie, sr.

     Infielders: Willie Freimuth, Waunakee, sr.; Evan Deegan, Edgerton, sr.; Carter Hoffman, River Valley, sr.; Carter Brekke, Sun Prairie, sr.

     Outfielders: Alex Brown, Madison West, sr.; Tim Fritz, Potosi, sr.; Andy Brahier, Jefferson, jr.

     Designated Hitter: Armann Cabrera, Beloit Memorial, jr.


SECOND TEAM District 5 All-District Team

     Pitchers: Lucas Gregory, Edgerton, jr.; Brett Yoder, Sun Prairie, sr.

     Catcher: Carson Carmody, Barneveld, jr.

     Infielders: Riley Anderson, Madison La Follette, jr.; Kasey Miller, Middleton, jr.; Pierce Russell, Shullsburg/Benton, sr.; Jarett Druding, Beloit Memorial, jr.

     Outfielders: Adam Catacutan, Milton, sr.;  Seth Douglas, Reedsburg, sr.; Patrick Whalen, Beloit Memorial, jr.; Curt Barsness, Wisconsin Heights, jr.

     Designated Hitter: Ian Streeter, Fennimore, sr.


HONORABLE MENTION District 5 All-District Team

     Pitchers: Curtis Cook, Waterloo, sr.; Nathan Hendrickson, Shullsburg/Benton, jr.; Tyler Hellenbrand, Barneveld, jr.; Alex Spurley, River Valley, sr.; Brian Lochner, Middleton, sr.

     Catcher: Will Doughtery, Wisconsin Heights, jr.

     Infielders: Andrew Ryan, Lancaster, so.; Andrew Page, Wisconsin Heights, sr.; Nick Schrader, Jefferson, so.

     Outfielders: Austin Larson, Dodgeville, jr.; Casey Grosshauser, Waunakee, sr.; Culllen Osmond, Janesville Parker, jr.; Tyler Hunt, Fennimore, sr.


**Distict 5 is made up of players from teams that are from the Big Eight, Rock Valley North, Northern and Southern Badger, Northern and Southern Capitol, Six Rivers, Southern Wisconsin Activities League, and Southwest Wisconsin Conferences.**


By: Tyler Zavadsky    Twitter: @TylerZonESPN

Return to: Prep Corner Blog